118 Comments
author

I'll kick us off - I LOVE collaborating but I found guest posts were very time consuming to manage - I love and prefer podcasts. Paid members can apply to podcast with me anytime. I am OPEN to guest posts on both my publications. On Creatively Conscious I have a targeted ask and that is stories of rejection - more here - https://creativelyconscious.substack.com/t/the-rejection-palace

Expand full comment
Apr 27Liked by Claire Venus

I recently started a 5-10 minute voice note where I reflect on a question. It's so rough and and imperfect . The notes are completely unedited but I decided to just start. I really want to weave the voices and stories of other women along with mine so I've been inviting other women to contribute 'an episode' too.

I was delighted to publish my first guest episode a couple of weeks ago: https://open.substack.com/pub/rahmadutton/p/i-wonder-how-my-kids-will-remember?utm_source=share&utm_medium=android&r=wnpuf

I'd love to hear from anybody who's up for recording a voice note for this project. My publication is called A Woman Who Wanders and some common themes are belonging, starting over, deciding to leave, deciding to stay, inward and outward travelling. Basically, the winding path of life. If that sounds like a fit, let me know!

Expand full comment

Oooooh, thanks for this, Claire. I've got some!

Find another Substack writer to correspond with in a series of letters. I've had this kind of collaborative relationship with fellow British writer Terry Freedman since 2022, and it brings SO MUCH to my writing life. Here's how:

1. Responding to specific points in HIS letters - subjects over which I have no control - is liberating, especially for someone like me who often gets bogged down in self-selected detail with my own posts.

2. Finding stories in places I wouldn't be looking in for subject matter in my regular Saturday posts. I write about what I'm reading, I keep an eye out for silly road signs, and what Terry and I haven't discussed (and always with humour, not grouch) about the state of British roads isn't worth knowing.

3. Having a deadline. I publish a letter to Terry every other Wednesday (he writes to me on the Wednesdays in between), and that keeps me on my toes.

4. Having an always-there supporter for everything writerly. Terry knows what it's like to be a writer, and it's great to have a sounding board.

5. Sharing a community. We have lots of people who enjoy reading both sides of our correspondence, and the comments threads are a lovely shared space.

Here's a link to both sides of the Rebecca/Terry correspondence - https://rebeccaholden.substack.com/s/letters-to-terry

Another couple of collaborative ideas I've had the pleasure to explore are these:

A. I've had submissions of lost items from other Substackers, and have thoroughly enjoyed writing about those. Here's my latest example: https://rebeccaholden.substack.com/p/142-found-a-mini-book-of-lists

B. I've done a couple of interviews, the latest of which is being published today. Check out Sharron Bassano's 'Leaves' if you'd like to read it - https://substack.com/@sharronbassano

Expand full comment

Hi Clare, thank you for this invitation. I am really interested in exploring unconventional paths and journeys on my page. I have not started seeking collaboration yet - but in the medium term I would love to feature people around those themes. Overall I love collaborating and I have found lots of ideas on Substack even from interactions - like exchanging on notes or comments like these.

Expand full comment

Congratulations on the milestone Claire!

I have never collaborated with someone on Substack but am considering it after an unexpected podcast collaboration went so well recently! That collaboration happened elsewhere on social media, but it has led to me wondering where I can find other people via Substack, especially since the energy of the people on this platform has been so refreshingly open and supportive.

I’m a physician, leader, and coach who helps other recovering perfectionists and high achievers redefine success for themselves and find more joy. I’m definitely an example of “you teach me hat you most need to learn.”

If anyone here is interested in collaborating on a topic that fits in that lens, feel free to reach out. I love seeing what you’re all doing in your own spaces.

Expand full comment

Claire, what a lovely idea. I thrive on collaboration - some of the most uplifting, productive and profoundly satisfying work I've ever been involved in has come about due to spontaneous "Let's do something together" decisions.

I'm a mindset trainer, psychotherapist and writer and wouod live to contribute a value-packed post or be a podcast interviewee or guest coach for hosts and communities where we feel a joyful energy. I'm also beginning to think about inviting guests onto my substack, "Something More", to share their experiences of mindset transformation and self-leadership. If either of those resonates with any substackers reading this, please get in touch. 💕

Expand full comment

Collaboration is at the heart of my publication and I have upcoming guest posts on the themes of ‘Heiter’ (happiness) and ‘Sisu’ (tenacity). I’m looking for someone to write on the topics of ‘Lagom,’ a Swedish word meaning ‘just the right amount’ or ‘not too little, not too much’ and ‘Saudade,’ a Portuguese word meaning ‘longing,’ for my This Creative Life series. May share this so I can cast the net a bit wider…

Expand full comment
founding

Congrats on that milestone Claire!

I’m collaborating with Sarah Ward (Sex and Style) for an upcoming post for mothers wanting to connect back to their sensuality, creativity and erotic energy.

We’re nutting it out at the moment, will likely have short videos guided by Sarah, alongside my personal story of becoming disconnected from my womb space (and the grief that brings, especially after my womb performed a bloody miracle for me and my child) and sensuality and sexuality and how I’m reclaiming it.

I’ve never cross-posted before, I guess that’s what this is for?

Is there anything you think we should know about cross-promoting?

Expand full comment
Apr 27Liked by Claire Venus

Hi Claire ! Thank you for the invitation! I would love to collaborate, I am a musician and I really love talking about creativity, the creative process of songwriting and music in general. There's so much to be said for listening carefully to a track, and paying attention to how each musician is involved.

Expand full comment

Hi Claire and thank you for the invitation. I’d be happy to collaborate and offer words or photographs, and would be especially interested in a dialogue where we each respond to the other’s words or images, or discuss creative motivations and processes. It would be a nice way of continuing the invitation in this post about entering into place https://michelagriffith.substack.com/p/finding-beauty

Expand full comment

Congrats on 4,000, Claire! You create such a welcoming, joyous, kind community here. As for collaborations, I have two invitations for sober writers...

1. I host an annotated directory of sober writers on my own substack (Sober Soulful). I also promote those writers regularly through Notes, comments, etc. If you’re sober and write about recovery, check out SoberStack™ and let me know if your pub is a fit: https://danaleighlyons.substack.com/s/soberstack

2. I work for another substack (Sober.com) and part of my job is to recruit sober writers for guest contributions. If you’re sober and would like to be considered for a guest post, check it out here and email me for details (my email is at the bottom of every post): https://soberapp.substack.com/

Expand full comment

I have just started my first collaboration, and that is cross posting with a fellow substcker with us answering a set of questions. Kinda like interview. We align here for being foreign where we are and possibly even where we are from!

I am still exploring what my Substack really is, I started by wanting to inspire more conscious living, and have also been reflecting about my personal life/memoir towards identity and belonging. This makes it difficult to know who I should collaborate with and how.

Of course collaboration takes time too on top of my own weekly schedules! Anyone has an advice here? Thank you!

Expand full comment

Hi! I have been wanting to collaborate and opened my publication/podcast up for submissions, but the initial response has been slow. Since I'm about to go on another maternity leave, I'd love to fill up that space with some "guest hosts," as I am calling them! Basically, my Substack, Soul Journaling Sessions, is also a podcast where I read an essay I've written with journal prompts that correspond to the theme. I've been inviting readers to submit their work to read on the episode, either an original essay or something they were inspired to journal on thanks to a prompt I had on a previous episode. I do the podcast intro to introduce them, and read the journal prompts for them, so if you submit, you just get to focus on reading your essay or journal entry and sending that recording over to me.

Anyway, I'd love for others to come on and share their thoughts, insights, and stories! You can learn more about it here: https://souljournalingsessions.substack.com/p/a-special-invitation-share-your-writing.

Expand full comment

I've just perused through all of the comments and see that so many are already doing collabs! I am not, but is something I am considering. But how - guest interviews with others in the wellness and cooking space, possibly test kitchen style (ask people to cook up a recipe that I am working on for feedback). Something to think about for the future!

Expand full comment

Thanks for this lovely space, Claire! Congrats on your 4000 subscriber milestone, and sharing your knowledge with us! I appreciate learning from you!!

I'm pretty brand new to Substack, so I haven't really explored collaborations yet, but I've had a few workshop collaborations and Instagram live collaborations that have really lit up my soul, so I'm excited to explore what collaborating over here looks like! To that end, if anyone would like to swap guest posts or be on the podcast I'm planning to launch later this summer/early Fall, I'd love to connect! I'm a trauma therapist and support folks in healing relationship trauma. I'd love to hear from you if you're a fellow healer (of any modality) or if you've been on a healing journey that you'd like to share.

Expand full comment

I have a series on talking to creators about their approach, process and delivery of bringing their newsletter, their content, to life. I'm always looking for people with different types of topics and creative approaches. Would love to connect with anyone interested in being featured! ☺️

Expand full comment
founding

It’s a THRILL to see you embrace the 4K point Claire. Whoop whoop. Seeing you do this with generosity on the daily is honestly a treat.

After reading all the luscious posts (hi everyone!) I’m feeling all full up in good ways with so much soulful talent. Confession: I wanted to answer you all 🤣 but ended up saying zip. Maybe something I say will connect with you, LOVE to hear from you if a crumb does.

On Parents who Think (PWT) I’m bedding in three verticals. Personal essays, the PWT podcast and this next one…

1. I’ve a targeted ask for the upcoming Parents That Write Questionnaire. It’s a written series on the behind the scenes of writing and raising kids. Guests on this will answer a small number of core Q’s then choose 2/3 from a list of others. It’s not the typical ‘how do you juggle kids and writing?’ focus, that’s the plan 😘 I’m keen to find guests who have habits + conditions they write in they’d like to share.

For instance, one of the core questions goes along the lines of, “What or who is your secret writing weapon?”

I’d check for accuracy but I’m writing this at 4.30am with a child wedged beside me!!

Let me know if you’re up for seeing if this is a fit. Especially good for published authors, and other creatives but don’t let formal publication put you off. ♥️

Ooh and from June I’m opening up rental of my Somerset writers little getaway for people to come write, walk and nourish themselves. It’s being redecorated at the mo (I’m having it carpeted and repainted). One substacker completed his album there and another came for an injection of creativity and peace away from her family. It’ll be ever so good value as I want to make it accessible.

I’m wide open for collabs. Veteran podcaster - about to be interviewed by Kristina God re podding on Substack. Themes I’m into are living an AND life (slow country life and city boardroom) (mother of 10 and my own person), being sober and loving it at almost 5 yrs after being a champagne buff, doing a lot in life without burning out, and related to all of this building conditions that cultivate energy rather than deplete it.

Trusting this essay lands exactly as it needs to. Much love xx

Expand full comment

Thanks Claire! Such a fun thread with such inspiring writers. My focus is on marketing education, but through the lens of inspiration, purpose, and service. I have a podcast I’m doing with a colleague that is always accepting guest applications, but I’m also super interested in guest posts and collabs for my primary Substack @marketingjam. I’m a more the merrier, two heads are always better than one kind of gal, so please hit me up if you’d like to explore an idea!

Expand full comment
Apr 27Liked by Claire Venus

Congratulations on your milestone, Claire!!

Expand full comment
Apr 27Liked by Claire Venus

4000 subscribers! Yay, that’s amazing Claire! Congratulations 🎈🎉🎊

Expand full comment